Turkey and Finals and Farmers oh my!

I feel like I’ve been spun around in a whirly gig, and am just now getting a chance to tell you all about it.  Thanksgiving happened, and it was my first turkey feast away from family.  My mother decided to fly home for the holiday and I wasn’t able to go along, which was strange for me.  I almost didn’t realize it was Thanksgiving.  Luckily, I ended up at a friend’s place where we ate heritage bird, sunchokes, 2 kinds of potato, and a whole mess of pie.

And then I had to start cramming for finals.  And somewhere in there I was invited to two local Farmer’s Markets.  And I looked around and realized it had been ages since we chatted.  To make it up to you, I’m giving you the recipe for the cocktail we developed for Thanksgiving and that ended up as the signature beverage for the night.  I may have consumed several.

You can make this cocktail two ways, both are lovely.

The Winter Queen v1:
1 ounce Vanilla Pear shrub
2 Ounces floral gin, such as Hendricks or Geranium (or vodka)
5 dashes Lavender Bitters, such as Bar Keep’s Lavender Spice bitters
Ice
Lemon peel curl

Combine all ingredients in a pint glass. Add ice and stir for 15-20 seconds until everything is well mixed and about an ounce of ice water has been diluted into the cocktail. Strain into a clean glass. Add a curl of lemon peel.

The Winter Queen v2
1 ounce Vanilla Pear shrub
1.5 Ounces floral gin, such as Hendricks or Geranium (or vodka)
.5 Ounces Violet Liqueur such as The Bitter Truth’s Violet Liqueur
5 dashes Lavender Bitters, such as Bar Keep’s Lavender Spice bitters
Ice
Lemon peel curl

Combine all ingredients in a pint glass. Add ice and stir for 15-20 seconds until everything is well mixed and about an ounce of ice water has been diluted into the cocktail. Strain into a clean glass. Add a curl of lemon peel.

One thought on “Turkey and Finals and Farmers oh my!

Leave a Reply

